How to uninstall Crawler Parental Control without a password, or reset or restore the password

March 17, 2010

I downloaded and installed Crawler Parental Control for Windows Vista the other day, and then found myself in a peculiar situation when my Internet connection was blocked (“Limited or no connectivity”, even though I’d entered the correct WLAN password) while I at the same time had forgotten what my Crawler Parental Control password was.

I snooped around a bit, and found a solution. So, if you forgot your Crawler password, or just wanna uninstall the sucker, here’s how to first reset or restore the password, and then uninstall the application:

Go to C:\programdata\parentalcontrol – and delete everything in it. Empty out the trash can (better safe than sorry), reboot, and you’ll get a dialog prompting you to reset the password.

You can then easily uninstall the application or change its settings.

2 Responses to “How to uninstall Crawler Parental Control without a password, or reset or restore the password”

  1. cra Says:

    Hi,
    I can’t uninstall Crawler Parental Control because i don’t have the password. In my PC C:\programdata\parentalcontrol doesn’t exist. What can I do?
    Thanks
    Bye

    • bolsjevik Says:

      Sorry, you might have another version of Crawler than I did. I don’t know how to proceed from there. Google is your friend. /Admin


Leave a Reply

